May 24, 1980

My parents have been married 37 years today……37 YEARS!

Growing up, I swore I was going to have a marriage like theirs. They never let us kids affect them, or vise versa. If they were having an argument, it wasn’t in front of us; every once in a while we might have ‘felt’ the tension but there was never a raised voice to be heard. I’m sure times were sometimes harder than I realized, but that was the thing. I never realized because it was never detrimental to their marriage.

They met on the school bus as kids. My dad saved my mom a seat for months before she finally sat next to him. On their second date, my dad uttered the word ‘love’ and my mom laughed in his face. And to think they love each other more now than the day they said ‘I do.’

I’ve never seen a guy look at a girl the way my dad looks at my mom.

So Mom and Dad, if you ever read this: thank you. Dad, you have shown your three daughters how a man should love his beloved. Mom, you have shown us how to be a great wife. Thank you for loving each other through it all. For changing and growing but always choosing the other.

On behalf of all three of us…. Thank you. 

Leave a comment