Family+Family=Family

I have two older sisters who are both married, one with kids. I was the baby of the family. We are the very definition of a close family. Greg’s family is the exact same way, except adding me was more of an adjustment.

Greg is the oldest sibling of two and the first to get married, including his extended family. Not only is this completely new to his family, I also took them from 4 people to 5. For those of you who think this isn’t a big deal; trust me it is. Games no longer can be played with equal teams, dinner outings are never as easy, and oh yeah, I’m the only girl, so that brings its own hurtles.

Until now.

Greg’s younger brother is bringing his new girlfriend over this weekend to celebrate Father’s Day and to meet us. She has already met his parents but not Greg or me….. can I say I’m nervous? Because I’m nervous. Michael (his brother) likes to keep to himself so the fact that he is dating is a wonderful thing, but what if I don’t like her? Or what if I do like her and it doesn’t work out? I become attached too easily; its a gift and a curse.

All the while, now I get to see everyone on their best behavior again and I won’t be the one trying to impress 🙂 The joys of being out of the dating life, am I right?!

All of the obstacles I faced taking my in-laws from a family of 4 to 5 are finally settled; we got in a rhythm, we figured things out and it’s all changing. Now we are moving to 6…yikes!

Stayed tuned, because even I don’t know how this will turn out!

Leave a Reply

