Coff to the EE (Starbucks Version)

tenor

Hi, my name is Kelsie. I’m addicted to coffee (and I don’t want it to end).

This is a new revelation for me. When I used to think about coffee my mind would go to my mom’s stale breath every morning (sorry mom) and the smell of no-so-freshly-ground Folgers. That is not (and probably never will be) my thing. Call me a coffee addict, call me a coffee snob, call me whatever you want. The reality is…

…I love me some Starbucks.

Like, LOVE LOVE LOVE. I love the fixings, the toppings, and the sugar (andofcourseIlovethecaffeinebecausewhowouldn’tloveallthatcaffeine!!!!???!!!)  that come in Starbucks drinks, but I really struggled between getting what I love and getting something that meant I was spending all my daily allotted calories. At once. Also, I could drink cold drinks in a blizzard, so I’m partial to iced.

So…for all of you out there just like me, I did some experimenting and these are my favorite drinks that won’t wreck your diet!

(all calories are based on a grande size)
  1. Iced Cinnamon Almondmilk Macchiato-  This is new and goodness I hope it stays forever!! Super sweet (sometimes I ask for 1/2 the syrup) but the cream of the almond milk with the pinch of cinnamon. I video taped myself tasting it the first time and sent it to Steven (my editor), it was one for the books. Coming in at only 190 calories, I usually find myself splurging for the venti because I just can’t get enough!
  2. Iced (or hot) Caramel Macchiato- Creamy and smooth, sweet without being overbearing; made with non-fat milk is only 200 calories, almond milk brings you down to 170.
  3. Java Chip Light Frappuccino- made with nonfat milk, gives you all the goodness of the chocolate even added with java chips brings you only to 210 calories, and worth every one!
  4. Caramel Light Frappuccino- 140 calories….need I say more?
  5. Vanilla Latte- Swapped out with nonfat milk totals 200 calories. I have heard this is good iced as well, but I haven’t tried that yet.
  6. Finishing my list with the classic Iced Vanilla Coffee- this is as close-to-regular-coffee as I can handle it. When I need a pick-me-up that rings in at $3, this is my go-to. And without creamer it’s only 80 calories, so sometimes I go home and add my vanilla almond milk creamer because I know I have enough to spare!

Drinks I can’t wait to try:

  • Midnight Mint Mocha Frappuccino- I can’t say no to mint and I’m totally prepared to waste my calories on this, because trust me it isn’t below 200!
  • Vanilla Sweet Cream Cold Brew- Love me some cold brew, just haven’t gotten around to trying this yet
  • Toasted Coconut Cold Brew- same as above
  • Coconutmilk Mocha Macchiato- Everytime I go to order this drink I find myself going back to the cinnamon version, listed above.
  • Steven would also kill me if I didn’t add his favorite to the list. Doubleshot on ice (one pump classic with either soy or breve, depending on mood) is his addiction of choice. I haven’t tried it, keep saying I will (and I will) but there will need to be a lot of milk added in mine!!

So there you have it! All the drinks I love (and can’t wait to love) in a list! I will be sure to keep you updated as I expand my addiction! If you have a favorite I haven’t tried or a drink you and the barista made up yourself that needs to be shared let me know!!

Leave a Reply

